Biblioteca Intervenida


Santander, Figueras, Madrid, Ferrol, Lleida

“Biblioteca intervenida” presents a new challenge for 40 artists. They are being given the opportunity not to tackle a blank sheet of paper, page or canvas, albeit with the added difficulty of having to work with a medium that carries huge symbolic weight, of whatever kind. In this case, it is the medium itself that will define both the artists’ ideas and what they choose to do with it, as the relationship between the two of them is important for a satisfactory outcome.

The topic proposed will be set by the publication used: The exhibition, like any library, it will have to have all kinds of “literature” that appeals to all kinds of people. This is why the selection of artists at the first phase of “The intervened library” is so diverse. The library accepts all sorts of interventions (drawing, collage, cut-outs, insertions, etc.), provided they use an existing publication as medium: books, catalogues, atlases, maps books, encyclopaedias, art brochures, comics, calendars and diaries, magazines, newspapers, and so on.

Exhibition itinerary:

  • Museo de Arte Moderno y Contemporáneo de Santander y Cantabria (MAS), Festival Desvelarte, from Monday 5 to Sunday 11 September 2011
  • Galeria D’art Dolors Ventós, Festival Ingràvid de Figueras, from 9 to 19 November 2011
  • Espacio F, Mercado de Fuencarral de Madrid, from 20 December 2011 to 9 January 2012
  • Centro Torrente Ballester de Ferrol, from 27 July to 6 October 2012
  • DAFO, Lleida, from 12 January to 23 March 2013

Participating artists: Esther Achaerandio, Izaskun Álvarez Gainza, Javier Arce, Tamara Arroyo, Irene de Andrés, Marlon de Azambuja, Busto Bocanegra, Míriam Cantera, Pedro Luis Cembranos, Daños Colaterales, Javier Chavarría, Raúl Díaz Reyes, Julio Falagán, Theo Firmo, Nuria Fuster, María Gambín, Fernando García, María García Ibáñez, Sonia Higuera, Edu Hurtado, Hisae Ikenaga, Olaf Ladousse, Juan López, Carlos Maciá, Óscar Martínez Martín and Eva Rueda Catry, Momu & No Es, Monoperro, Alfredo Morte, Pepe Murciego, Jaime Narváez, Noaz, Blanca Pérez-Portabella, Jordi Ribes, Belén Rodríguez, Mario Sarramián, Pablo Serret, Daniel Silvo, Luis-Felipe Talo, Françoise Vanneraud, Zoé T. Vizcaíno, Maya Watanabe

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.
By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. More Information